top of page

DATING A CLOWN


Dating today is all about making the first impression, which it is not a bad thing. It is possible to bath, put on makeup, and dress up for a date without putting on a mask.


It’s possible to turn up in skinny jeans, a polo t-shirt with Nike shoes, and still be a genuine person.


These days people smell good for a date, yet their lives up close and personal are stinking with unresolved issues from the past.


You can still look beautiful on your date, and open up about your painful experience about rape or child abuse. It is possible to look handsome and open up about your fears and insecurities.


Dating is not a competition about who had a better upbringing, or a better job or who is emotionally stronger than the other.


I want to slowly lead you to me. I will not scare nor traumatize you by plunging you down into the dark, deep scary secret place in my soul.


But I will open one door at a time, like a father teaching his son to walk. I will help you stand, and hold your hand as you take one step closer to me - until you are confident enough to go all the way, and I trust you enough to let you stand while walking closer to me.


The mask is heavy and uncomfortable to put on daily when I want to see you.


Dating has so many rules and it's so hard to master them all.


The rules of first impressions, the rules of etiquette, and the dos and don’ts. I just need a friend with whom I can be free to drop the mask, and break the rules so that I can just be me.


Because you will be waking up next to me every day of your life, so get to know me enough to run away, or enough to run with me all the way to the altar.


Dating a clown can be fun when you are jumping from one circus to another, but marriage is not a circus, as the clown will take off the costume and drop the funny accent and be real.


At that point you begin to long for the clown you had been dating in the past and not the person in your present.


Truth is, you allowed him or her to be a clown, you encouraged him or her to be an actor or actress.


But now the play is over, it’s time to step off the stage and get real backstage.


If you are going to have a chance of knowing each other before making that commitment then get real.


Walk into that relationship a genuine person, and the next person will have no option but to get real too.


LAWRENCE MUSUNTE


+27845517018


lmusunte@gmail.com

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page