top of page

DEFINING APOLOGETICS (Part 1)



"Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have" (1Peter 3:15)


As a young boy zealous for the Lord I had inherited the hatred for 'Theology' and 'Theologians. No one gave me the definition of Theology'.


What I thought was, it's either you are lead by the Holy Spirit, or you are lead or mislead by Theologians. In my mind Theology was an enemy of the Holy Spirit.


One day in my preaching I spoke strongly against theology. After the service a visitor from chingola asked me a question, "brother Lawrence what is theology?". It is at this point when it dawned on me that I never understood what I was criticising.


"contend for the faith that was once for all entrusted to the saints" (Jude 3)


Why should we contend for the truth?


The answer is; because the truth of God is under serious attack. Christians therefore do more than share the truth; we defend it.


DEFINITION


The first time I was told that I am an apologist I was offended. In my mind apologetics is preaching apologetically.


But Apologetics does not mean apology.

Apologetics is defined as the defence of the truth.


"What we need is a religion that is not only right where we are right, but right where we are wrong" (G.K. Chesterton)


PERSUASION


A well trained waiter/waitress knows the art of persuasion in order to up-sale.


Throwing a menu at the table will not get your much needed tips.


By persuasion you recommend the best but expensive bottle of wine. And point your guests at the table to "specials of the day".


Most of us whether we buying a fridge or a phone we like it when the sales person knows the product and can recommend the best fridge/phone, and give reasons as to why I must get this particular brand of fridge/phone.


In apologetics we are pursuading others by appealing to logic and systematically explain why we believe what we believe.


I define this process as "consistently expounding the truths of God's word, and exposing false teaching".


We cannot defend what we don't know.


Preachers get into the habit of using terms on the pulpit without first defining these terms. My approach to preaching and teaching ministry is apologetics. In my war-room (study) I always envision my audience and anticipate what kinds of questions my audience might raise and, then resolve them in my sermon preparation.


Of cause my preaching just like my writings are long, but they resolve questions......(To continue in Part 2)

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page