top of page

YES! CHURCHES MAKE NOISE



YES! CHURCHES MAKE NOISE!


I can see how the above statement can easily push a religious person in defence mood. Relax! Let me unpack.


Sound system, singing and preaching which is a blessing to those participating maybe a disturbance to the neighbors who want to sleep.


Again some religious folk will charge, "if Church music is disturbing you then you are demon possessed". Now that I call religious response.


In January, 1995 I arrived at Victory Institute of Biblical Studies in Nkana East Kitwe, Zambia.


My idea of Bible College was that of pious devotion where everyone is always in the Spirit, Hallelujah!


I shared a room with another new student Pastor Fortunatus Mwenya Lombe and one senior student Pastor Thomas Mwinga.


I have never shared this, now here it comes.

Excited as new comers I believed Fortunatus and Pastor Thomas were picked by God to be my roommates. After talking and praying that first night we retired and slept.


At 4am as was my tradition I wake up and started praying. Fortunatus also wake up to pray. After a few minutes Pastor T wake up with a very authoritative voice, "baiche mulepanga ichongo there is time for everything" (Young men you are making noise).


He told us to go outside to a place we could pray without disturbing those who are sleeping.


I went back into my blanket and wondered if Pastor Thomas is really a born-again Christian.


But after sometime, and I say this not in anyway to boast about Pastor T, I have never met a man of Prayer like Pastor Thomas.


I watched him sneaking out of the room to pray.


Some weekends Pastor T will disappear in solitude. Of course those moments he will offer me his plate of breakfast, lunch & supper.


A dedicated teacher of God's word. I loved his writings and he inspired me long before Facebook.


What Pastor Thomas taught me that night was; there is a time and place for loud prayers.


Personal devotion should never disturb those brothers who are tired and need rest.


I have heard Christians stumbled by churches that are in their residential places.


Your neighbor starts a church in the garage. He brings high powered sound system in a garage that does not need that sound.


The services on Monday, Wednesday, Friday overnights, Saturday band rehearsal and two services on Sunday without even giving a thought about your neighbor.


Man of God you are stumbling your neighbors.


Some children are busy studying for national exams but you are busy distrusting them.


When a neighbor approaches you and ask you to turn it down, you go stand on the pulpit to testify that finally my neighbors demons are scared of the anoiting they are manifesting.


That's when you even make more noise!


If I am not participating in your loud music it is a noise!


Don't let me talk about those residents that are sorrounded by Churches in every street churches competing in making chaotic noise.


In civilized communities before having a party or service at your house, inform your neighbors and stick to time, not going on as the spirit leads without caring for your neighbors.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page